Enable Multitouch(two-fingers) on Synaptics trackpad on Linux

This could be your Trackpad

This could be your Trackpad

Very few people know that every synaptics trackpad supports multitouch and as long as your OS supports it  you can always use multitouch to enhance your computers interface. Apple has patented several UI design elements ,hence has inhibited Windows and Linux to come out with similar UI elements like pinch and zoom, scroll etc.   

microsoft-windows-vista-logoIf you are using Windows xp, vista or Windows 7 then click here

signature_color_high_res_0 Install Synaptics driver  in ubuntu

apt-get install  xserver-xorg-input-synaptics 

Now  edit your xorg.conf file

sudo vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf

find the input section

Section “InputDevice” Identifier “Synaptics Touchpad”

Add these lines in it

Option “HorizEdgeScroll” “on”

Option “VertEdgeScroll” “on”
Option “VertTwoFingerScroll” “on
Option “HorizTwoFingerScroll” “on”
Option “CornerCoasting” “on”
Option “PalmDetect” “on”
Option “CircularScrolling” “on”
Option “CircScrollTrigger” “3”

 

19 responses to this post.

  1. […] Very few people know that every synaptics trackpad supports multitouch and as long as your OS supports it you can always use multitouch to enhance your computers interface. Apple has patented several UI design elements ,hence has inhibited Windows and Linux to come out with similar UI elements like pinch and zoom, scroll etc.   If you are using Linux and want to setup multitouch then click here  […]

    Reply

  2. Качество друзей тоже надо учитывать. Дональд Трамп, например, на двадцатку потянет.

    Reply

  3. Навеяно наверное стандартным мышлением? Будьте проще ))

    Reply

  4. Супер статья!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Brandon on August 14, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I tried this on Ubuntu 9.04. I already had the synaptics driver installed. It was all relatively straightforward (though I didn’t have vi, so I used gedit), but it crashed x, and made Ubuntu unbootable. I had to boot to terminal to repair it. So, reader be warned, if you mess with this, cp your xorg.conf beforehand, and be ready to boot from CD or boot to terminal to repair it.

    Before you make changes, backup with

    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf xorgbackup.conf

    If you trash your install, from terminal

    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorgbackup.conf xorg.conf

    To fix it.

    Happy hacking!

    Reply

  6. Posted by atr on August 25, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    try

    cat /proc/bus/input/devices

    if you have synaptics touch pad, you will see something like this

    N: Name=”SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad”

    Reply

  7. Posted by Brandon on September 2, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    I do have a Synaptics touch pad–I of course made sure of that before tweaking xorg to implement Synaptics features. (I already had multitouch up and working in both Vista and Windows 7, I just can’t for the life of me get Ubuntu to play nice.)
    By the way, I just re-read my post saying I don’t have vi, which was a typo. Of course I have it with Ubuntu, but I don’t prefer it for simple appending of a few lines. I don’t know what made me say I don’t have it.

    Anyway, I’ve done a lot of Googling, and found a lot of (all very different) methods of hacking Ubuntu, Debian, or other distros to use Synaptics multitouch, but they all seem to be specific to older or different distros. Hmmm. I sure wish someone would publish a (better) tool to the repositories to enable this.

    Reply

  8. Posted by pastorjack on November 12, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    hey. Ive been trying to make this work for a while now… my touchpad is listed as “synPS/2 Synaptics Touchpad” I have the synaptics driver at the newest version, but my xorg.conf has no ‘input device’ section. i did a bit of reading and it seems that Hal is now being used to configure this stuff. i tried the example on the ubuntu site, but to no effect.
    Does the xorg way still work?
    CAN i just add an input device section to it?
    any ideas would be appreciated.

    thanks
    -j

    Reply

  9. Posted by neistridlar on February 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    To everyone using Ubuntu and it’s derivatives, I found some package in synaptic packagemanager that gave me a GUI to do the settings. It worked flawlessly. I don’t remember the name, but search for touchp (i’m a lazy typist), you should be able to find the right packages

    Reply

  10. Клёво! Заработало на моём Acer. Спасибо =)

    Reply

  11. Posted by noname on April 6, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    on openSUSE its enabled withoput doing something… just zoom, scroll and have fun with the touchpad 😀

    Reply

  12. Posted by Alphin AloorAttathra on February 27, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    i’ve found the input/

    i’m not used to linux coding… so when i try errors like Pattern not found and stuff come…

    can u gimme a dummy’s guide

    Reply

  13. Enable Multitouch(two-fingers) on Synaptics trackpad on Linux Art Life and Technology I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Enable Multitouch(two-fingers) on Synaptics trackpad on Linux Art Life and Technology Best Regards Cassetta Craig

    Reply

  14. Posted by Jared on September 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I came across this after just installing Ubuntu 12.04. xserver-xorg-input-synaptics was already installed, but I was able to make the changes by just going to Settings->Mouse and Touchpad

    Reply

  15. Posted by 童貞 on September 26, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    You should change the smart quotes in the code to normal quotation marks so that people can copy and paste directly from your post to their xorg.conf .

    Reply

  16. […] Enable Multitouch(two-fingers) on Synaptics trackpad on Linux↵ […]

    Reply

  17. […] Enable Multitouch(two-fingers) on Synaptics trackpad on Linux ↩ […]

    Reply

Leave a comment